• Home
  • Sarah Majoros Awarded 2014 Iowa Elementary School Counselor of the Year

Sarah Majoros Awarded 2014 Iowa Elementary School Counselor of the Year

Sarah Majoros, School Counselor at Madison Elementary School in Des Moines, Iowa, was named the 2014 Iowa Elementary School Counselor of the Year. The Iowa School Counselor Association (ISCA) gave this award to Ms. Majoros at the annual ISCA conference held in Des Moines on November 3, 2014.  Ms. Majoros shares the honor of 2014 Iowa Elementary School Counselor of the Year with Candy Reed, School Counselor at Garfield Elementary in Davenport, Iowa.

Ms. Majoros was recognized for the outstanding counseling program she has developed at Madison Elementary School that includes such elements as The Madison Holiday Project, Student Success Skills, Girls Group, and Bullying Prevention.  Ms. Majoros has received Bullying Prevention Specialist Certification through the American School Counseling Association (ASCA).  She has been instrumental in ensuring excellence in the counseling program at Madison through implementation of the ASCA national model.

Ms. Majoros received her master’s degree in Counselor Education from Iowa State in 2004.  Since then, she has been a School Counselor with Des Moines Public Schools.  She is a leader in her district, serving on the K-12 Counseling Leadership Cadre, co-chairing the Curriculum Development Committee, and serving on the district’s Grief Response Team.  She has also supplied many professional development opportunities for her colleagues at the local, state, and national levels.  Being recognized for excellence in the field of school counseling is not new to Ms. Majoros:  she is a former Gary Henrichs Memorial Grant winner and received the RAMP (Recognized ASCA Model Program) Award at the ASCA national conference in Boston in 2010, where she was also a presenter.

Her nominator, Melissa Hanasz, who is also a teaching colleague and parent at Madison Elementary, has this to say about Ms. Majoros:

“Working with Sarah over the last eight years has been an absolute privilege. The support that she gives classroom teachers and staff is above and beyond any expectation of a school counselor…Sarah’s kind heart, love of children, desire to make the world a better place, and diligent work ethic are rare in today’s world. She is truly making a difference in the lives of families and improving our growing community. “

We are fortunate to have Sarah Majoros represent Iowa as the 2014 Elementary School Counselor of the Year!  If you would like more information about Ms. Majoros and this statewide recognition please contact us at:


Shelley Klaas                                                          Clare Struck                                                          

ISCA Awards Committee Co-Chair                    ISCA Awards Committee Co-Chair

sylshell@mail.com                                                 clare.struck@uni.edu

(563)529-6272                                                          (319) 504-7017

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software